Coming Soon: John Dudley Book

John Dudley Knole mit RahmenI am happy to say that I am almost finished with writing my biography of John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland, Robert Dudley’s somewhat notorious father.

John Dudley: The Life of Lady Jane Grey’s Father-in-Law

will be available from amazon in early February 2016.

Now, what can readers expect? I’ve chosen a narrative approach, such as usually enjoyed by the “general reader” or Tudor enthusiast (like myself). I also discuss some of the questions discussed on this blog in the last few years, though, as well as many additional topics. Many of John’s very interesting contemporaries and friends also feature prominently, such as William Parr, Thomas Wriothesley, and Edward Seymour, Duke of Somerset; but also ambassadors and other Dudleys, like John’s brother Andrew, his wife Jane, and his children, especially his sons John, Guildford, and Robert. For example, if you do want to know why John Dudley’s daughter Mary married the courtier Henry Sidney when she did you should read my book 🙂

Just watch this space if you are interested! Thank you!

BookCover John Dudley white cover purple light letters

Blurb:

John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland  (1504–1553), one of the most notorious figures of Tudor England, is best known as the father-in-law of Lady Jane Grey, whom he helped to place on the English throne for nine days. However, he was also a courtier and diplomat, a general and de facto regent, as well as a patron of art and exploration and a devoted family man; and in the past decades his image has undergone significant changes from villain to talented statesman. The father of Queen Elizabeth’s friend Robert Dudley and grandfather of the poet Philip Sidney led a colourful life at the courts of Henry VIII and Edward VI which is vividly retold in this fully documented biography.

About Christine Hartweg

Hi, I'm the author of "Amy Robsart: A Life and Its End" and "John Dudley: The Life of Lady Jane Grey's Father-in-Law". I blog at www.allthingsrobertdudley.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in John Dudley, my books. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Coming Soon: John Dudley Book

  1. Susan Abernethy says:

    Will the book be available in the US Christine?

  2. Yay! I am looking forward to reading this, I do love the Dudleys!

  3. Carol Dennis says:

    I am so looking forward to this book Christine – I love the Dudley’s and nobody knows more about them than you do.

  4. Esther says:

    I look forward to reading it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.